Phone : 0700DIALCIBN

Office Holders

Mr. Opara Ken Onyewuchi, FCIB
2nd Vice President

Ken Opara, has over 27 years’ experience in SME, Retail and Commercial banking. He is the General Manager in Charge of Ikeja Regional Bank of Fidelity Bank Plc. Prior to Fidelity Bank, he has acquired over 7 years’ experience with some leading banks in Nigeria. Ken’s extensive experiences over the last 24 years in key positions include Branch Banking/Regional Management, Customer Banking, Electronic banking, Retail Banking and SME banking. He is a transformational leader known to have developed and nurtured new Business set ups from scratch to enviable height. He has attended several local and International programs including Insead, Kellog, Wharton, Euro Money Programs etc. As National Treasurer, Ken led the Institute to achieve its 2016 and 2017 full year budget with IGR coverage of recurrent expenditure by 130% for the first time. He also positioned CIBN Press (subsidiary of CIBN) to a profit making venture from a loss making position. Under his leadership as Chairman, CIBN Fidelity Bank Chapter, the bank won several awards among are: most supportive bank in 2014; best supportive bank by CIBN Lagos Branch 2014 and others.

He has a B.Sc Finance, Second Class Upper and the best graduating student in the department of Finance and MBA in Banking & Finance, all from University of Nigeria. Ken is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria and Associate, Institute of Certified Pension of Nigeria as well as Chartered Institute of Credit Administration. He served as a member of the CBN Committee that developed the current N220 billion MSMS funds. He is a team player and impeccable character, a devout Christian and happily married with four (4) children.

Contributions to the Institute/Banking and Finance Industry/Economy:
CIBN National Treasurer, (2016 - 2018), Chairman, Finance, Human Resources & General Purposes Committee, F&GPC (2016- 2018), Chairman, CIBN Fidelity Bank Chapter (2010 – 2016). Led the Fidelity Bank Chapter to win Best Participating Institution (Operators) and Best Supportive Financial Institution at 4th & 5th Banking & Finance Conference (2010 & 2011). Member, CIBN Lagos Branch Bankers Nite Organizing Committee (2012). Member, Consultative Committee Annual Banking & Finance Conference (2012 - 2013). Member, Executive Committee, Lagos State Branch (2012 – to date) Member, Governing Council (2012 – 2016). Vice Chairman, Annual Bankers Dinner (2014). Vice Chairman, Membership Development and Services Committee (2014 – 2016). Member, Audit Committee (2015). Member, Investigating Panel (2015). Vice Chairman, Annual Bankers Dinner (2015). Member, Sub-Committee on Linkage Programme (2015). Lecturer, Law, Ethics & Corporate Governance (1999 – 2011). Instrumental to having the highest number of staff that attended CIBN training programmes from Fidelity Bank Plc (2014). Facilitated more than 30 Senior Management Staff registration as HCIBs. Enhanced Fidelity Bank Plc approval of automatic second level position for fresh ACIB holders. Mobilized Members in Fidelity Bank Plc to attend Institute’s Programmes. Others Member, Central Bank of Nigeria Mobile Collateral Registry Committee (2014 – to date). Member, Central Bank of Nigeria N220 billion MSME Development Fund Review Committee (2014). Member, Sub-Committee on Capacity Building for SMEs by National Council on MSME (2015 – to date). Represents CIBN at the Association of Professional Bodies of Nigeria (APBN) meetings (2015 – to date). Chairman, Finance Sub-Committee, Association of Professional Bodies of Nigeria (2015 – to date).